January 12, 2007

  • A few months ago, while staying at our house, my step son called his mother to pick him up because he felt that he was not being appreciated at our house.   His mother couldn’t come because she had taken some sedative medications and was unable to drive.  He had also occasionally mentioned phrase like “nobody loves me.”  The next morning before school, I decided to give him a short talk about acknowledging the good that is already in life (abundance) instead of lack (scarcity).  I basically told him this: 

    Whatever you think me, your friends, and other people are withholding from you, whether it be appreciation or love, why don’t you give it first.  If you don’t have it to give, just act as if you have it and give it anyway.  Then soon after you start giving, you will start receiving.  You cannot receive what you don’t give.  Many people complain that others do not treat them well enough.  “I don’t get any respect, attention, recognition,  acknowledgment.  Nobody loves me,” they said.  Who they think they are is this: I am a needy little me whose needs are not being met.  This is a misperception.  When they think like this they creates a dysfunction in all their relationships and sabotages everything they have.  They believe that they have nothing to give and that the world and other people are withholding from them.  The fact is whatever they think the world is withholding from them, they are withholding from the world.  They are withholding it because deep down they think they are small and they have nothing to give. The fact is you must first acknowledge and recognize little things me and others do for you and do around you.  Give appreciation and you will receive appreciation. 

     

    Since then the boy stop complaining about his needs and demanding those needs to be met by us and others.  He stop maybe he got it or maybe he didn’t’ want to be lectured again.  I suspect it may be the latter.  Ha!

     

Comments (5)

  • I think it’s the latter. lol…

  • sometimes people withold because it is the lesser of two evils. For example, someone who has a lot of love but is surrounded by people who are not capable of recieving or returning that love.

  • lol i think its the latter also……little ppl dont understand those things yet (this is a big assumption) :D :D happy new year!

  • that speech isn’t as bad as what my dad would give. i hope he understood.

  • Wise advise Trimtab. Did you have a nice holiday. I thought I would hear from you. Judi

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories